Success-The 100-Mile Diet

Smith A, MacKinnon JB. 2007. The 100-Mile Diet: A Year of Local Eating. Toronto (ONT): Vintage Canada.

 

I’ve loved ice-cream ever since I was a kid, it always been my weakness. But I never realized, there was a way I could be getting more out of my ice cream; eating tastier, healthier, and more environmentally friendly!! The 100-Mile diet by Alisa Smith and J.B Mackinnon inspires a beautiful connection with the food sources your good be supporting. This evening I presented my very own local dish at a class dinner. Mmm…pumpkin ice-cream!

 

I started my ice cream by finding a locally sourced plant based product. I had some pumpkin puree in my freezer from the local dunes berry pumpkin farm only a few minutes down the road from my house. I roasted the pumpkin and blended it up, with no need for any additives like the puree you would find in the store. My second ingredient was locally produced cream from Blackwell dairy farm. This dairy farm is located only 45 minutes away from my house, and you can buy the products from the local Coopers supermarket. For the sweetness ice cream needs, I found locally produced honey also at the supermarket. The honey came from Westsyde Apiaries only 5 minutes down the road. My meal was complete!

 

Hmm… but eliminating imported ingredients like vanilla and cinnamon really eliminates that zip! This ice-cream needed a little something. I activated my horticulture senses and then it came to me….Mint! A fresh sprig of mint propagated from the TRU greenhouses, and grown my windowsill, was the perfect addition to this eat local desert.

food (1).JPG

 

food (37).JPG

 

food (41).JPG

 

food (39).JPG

Only 25 minutes in the ice-cream maker and I was good to go! Local food isn’t as hard as you would think! I compared a spoonful of my home-made ice-cream, and compared to store-bought vanilla and I was extremely surprised! Mine had a better texture, tasted like real cream, and the sweetness of honey tasted fresh. I felt good inside and out. Iv’e never had ice-cream more satisfying. The store-bought ice cream tasted like the any remaining milk products were highly processed and unnatural. The sugar tasted dirty!! I will honestly never go back to this so called ice cream in the store!

 

The desert section at the dinner was my favourite part. I think the blend of all the fresh fruits, cakes and creams was AMAZING! I was blown away at the amazing job everyone did.

 

I honestly haven’t finished the entire book yet, and with this busy semester I really don’t have time! But the first half that I completed was full of great ideas. Alisa is a great writer but J.B’s side is a bit dry. Throughout my eat local project, I have definitely increased my contribution to supporting local farmers. When I get a chance to finish the book,”100 Mile-diet” I can’t wait to find out more strategies to support local food!

Try it for yourself!

 

Homemade Pumpkin Ice-Cream Recipe

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups Blackwell Dairy Farm Cream(18%)

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 cups raw honey

Mint Leaf to garnish

 

Instructions

 

1) Whisk first three ingredients together in bowl.

2) Pour ingredients into ice cream maker. 

3) Garnish with mint leaf to serve. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

